Elżbieta Sikora
Martes, Abril 2, 2024 - 16:14

On 21 March, Polish composer Elżbieta Sikora has received the Prize of the President of the French Republic for her lifetime achievement in music.

Image for Karl Jenkins
Miércoles, Febrero 21, 2024 - 15:13

The Preis der Europäischen Kirchenmusik (European Church Music Prize) for 2024 goes to Welsh composer Karl Jenkins.

Lunes, Febrero 5, 2024 - 10:52

The prestigious Ernst von Siemens Music Prize for 2024 was won by Korean composer Unsuk Chin.

Gerd Kühr
Viernes, Octubre 20, 2023 - 15:57

The "Großen Österreichischen Staatspreis" (Big Austrian Culture Prize) for this year is awarded to Gerd Kühr. Wiht this life-time award Kühr wins €30,000

Viernes, Octubre 20, 2023 - 15:35

French composer Tristan Murail this year's recipient of the Wihuri Sibelius Prize. Murail was closely associated with the development of spectral music.

Viernes, Octubre 13, 2023 - 11:59

British composer Alex Paxton has won the Claussen-Simon-Kompositionspreis, worth €15000. The jury praises his "unique and colorful musical language".

Miércoles, Octubre 11, 2023 - 16:07

The German composer and pianist Hauschka (real name: Volker Bertelmann) has received the Sparkassen-Kulturpreis ("Savings Bank Culture Prize").

Martes, Julio 4, 2023 - 11:48

The 2023 Composer Prize of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung was won by American composer Eric Wubbels.

Jueves, Junio 29, 2023 - 20:09

The Hamburg (Germany) Lions Club has awarded the 2023 Gustaf Gründgens Prize to German composer Elmar Lampson.

Arvo Pärt
Viernes, Junio 2, 2023 - 10:10

The "Polar Music Prize" 2023 was awarded to Estonian composer Arvo Pärt. Representing his father, Pärt's son received the award on 23 May.

Image for George Benjamin
Lunes, Febrero 13, 2023 - 17:01

The Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis (Music Prize) for this year goes to British composer and conductor George Benjamin.

Miércoles, Diciembre 7, 2022 - 14:50

The 2023 Grawemeyer Award for Music composition has been won by British composer Julian Anderson. He wins the prize for his composition "Litanies" for cello and orchestra.

Evelyn Glennie
Lunes, Diciembre 5, 2022 - 19:35

Next year Scottish composer and percussionist Evelyn Glennie will receive the Léonie Sonning Music Prize, Denmark's biggest music award.

Alan Hilario
Martes, Noviembre 29, 2022 - 16:23

Philipine-born composer Alan Hilario will receive the 2022 Maria Ensle Preis on 11 December.

Martes, Noviembre 29, 2022 - 16:11

The German country of Sachsen-Anhalt has awarded composer Jakob Ullmann with the Landesmusikpreis (Country Music Prize).

Lunes, Noviembre 28, 2022 - 16:33

The "Giga-Hertz-Preis für elektronische Musik und Klangkunst" (Giga-Herz Prize for electronic music and sound art) is won by Argentinean composer Daniel Teruggi.

Heinz Holliger
Jueves, Noviembre 17, 2022 - 09:43

The Mainz Academy for Sciences and Literature has awarded Swiss composer Heinz Holliger with the Robert Schumann Prize for Poetry and Music. Holliger will receive an amount of €15000.

Hildur Guðnadóttir
Lunes, Octubre 3, 2022 - 10:14

Icelandic composer Hildur Guðnadóttir has received the Variety Artisan Award at the Toronto International Film Festival.

Alan Menken
Lunes, Septiembre 26, 2022 - 16:35

This year's Max Steiner Film Music Achievement Award was given to Alan Menken. He received the prize Vienna, Austria, during a gala evening that was completely dedicated tot the composer.

Domingo, Septiembre 25, 2022 - 14:25

The Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) has awarded Scottish composer Thea Musgrave with a honorary membership. The 94 year old composer is still active.