Vendredi, Décembre 2, 2016 - 10:34
Julio Estrada

Mexican composer, pianist, and musicologist Julio Estrada will receive the Medalla Bellas Artes for 2016.

Mercredi, Novembre 30, 2016 - 10:45
Image for Gustav Mahler

The autograph of Gustav Mahler's second symphony (Resurrection) was auctioned yesterday at Sotheby's for a sum of 4,546,250 GBP (about $5,670,000).

Mardi, Novembre 29, 2016 - 13:53

American composer Andrew Norman has won the prestigious 2017 University of Louisville Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition with his composition Play.

Mercredi, Novembre 23, 2016 - 09:58
Antoni Parera

The Premio Nacional de Música (Spanish National Music Prize) for 2016 was awarded to Antoni Parera.

Lundi, Novembre 21, 2016 - 10:20
Péter Eötvös

The French Académie des Beaux-Arts has awarded the 2016 Prix de la Fondation Simone et Cino del Duca to Hungarian composer Péter Eötvös.

Samedi, Novembre 19, 2016 - 18:39
Louis Andriessen

The Marie-Josée Kravis Prize for New Music for this year is awarded to Dutch composer Louis Andriessen.

Lundi, Novembre 14, 2016 - 14:35
Image for Morten Lauridsen

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, (ASCAP) has awarded composer Morten Lauridsen with a Life in Music Award.

Vendredi, Novembre 11, 2016 - 11:41
Lalo Schifrin

The Argentinean composer, conductor and pianist Lalo Schifrin is given the title "Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres" (Commander of the Arts and Literature) by the French minister of culture, Audr

Jeudi, Novembre 10, 2016 - 10:01
Francisco Goldschmidt

Chilean composer Francisco Goldschmidt has received the 2016 Bernd-Alois-Zimmermann grant of the German city of Cologne (Köln).

Mardi, Octobre 25, 2016 - 17:47
Christian Henking

The Swiss canton of Bern has awarded its music prizes for 2016. Composer Christian Henking is one of the four winners.

Mardi, Octobre 25, 2016 - 17:18

The 2016 Giga-Herz prize winners for electronic music have been made known. The main prize, worth €10000, goes to American composer Curtis Roads.

Vendredi, Octobre 21, 2016 - 11:36

Musical America Worldwide, who describe themselves as the voice of the performing arts industry in America, have chosen Andrew Norman to be winner of their composer of the year award 2017.

Jeudi, Octobre 20, 2016 - 21:41
Georges Aperghis

Greek composer Georges Aperghis has been awarded the 2016 "Christoph und Stephan Kaske-Stiftung" prize.

Jeudi, Octobre 20, 2016 - 21:21

On 13 October the Dutch music copyright organization BUMA has appointed Mayke Nas as "Componist des Vaderland" ("Composer of the Homeland").

Lundi, Octobre 17, 2016 - 15:18

The young Italian composer Marco Valerio Antonini has won the 2016 International Soundtrack Composition Prize of the Gil Familiy Estates (Spain).

Lundi, Octobre 17, 2016 - 09:54
Christina Kubisch

German composer Christina Kubisch and Austrian composer and producer Peter Kutin have won the 2016 Karl Sczuka Prize for radio drama.