Jeudi, Janvier 22, 2015 - 11:50

For the coming three year Finnish composer Esa-Pekka Salonen will be composer in residence with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra.

Mardi, Décembre 9, 2014 - 12:29

The British Composer Awards for 2014 have been announced. Here are the winners in all categories, with the title of the winning piece:

Jeudi, Décembre 4, 2014 - 12:51

Wolgang Rihm has won the 2015 Grawemeyer Award for Music Competition.

Brian Eno
Jeudi, Décembre 4, 2014 - 12:41

The composer Brian Eno has won Giga Hertz Prize for electronic music. He received the prize, €10000 (appr.

Image for Andersen Viana
Vendredi, Novembre 21, 2014 - 15:54

The composer Andersen Viana was one of 12 artists chosed between maestros of the whole Latin America and Europe to participate of the First National Residence of Musical Composition that makes part

Jeudi, Novembre 13, 2014 - 12:12

American composer John Luther Adams has won this year's Pulitzer Prize with the largest compositions he has written till now: Become Ocean.

Jeudi, Novembre 13, 2014 - 11:59

Australian composer David Hirschfelder is one of the winners of the 2014 APRA Screen Music Awards. He receives the prize for his work on the film ‘The Railway Man’.

Image for Douglas Gordon Lilburn
Lundi, Octobre 20, 2014 - 09:44

The famous New Zealand composer Douglas Lilburn will be added posthumously to the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Image for George Benjamin
Lundi, Octobre 20, 2014 - 08:02

The UK Critics' Circle has name composer George Benjamin outstanding musician for 2014.

Image for Wojciech Kilar
Mardi, Octobre 14, 2014 - 16:23

Last Sunday, composer Wojciech Kilar was honored with a plaque on his birthplace in Lviv, Ukraine (at the time of his birth the town was in Poland, and was called Lwów).

Image for Jean-Philippe Rameau
Lundi, Octobre 13, 2014 - 15:14

A study by French musicologist Sylvie Bouissou has revealed that the famous canon "Frère Jacques" is very likely composed by Jean-Philippe Rameau.

Lev Zhurbin
Mercredi, Octobre 8, 2014 - 12:35

Composer Lev Zhurbin has won the first Charles and Joan Gross Family Foundation Prize.

Image for Wojciech Kilar
Mercredi, Octobre 1, 2014 - 12:30

Film music composers have a new award to win.

R. Murray Schafer
Mercredi, Septembre 17, 2014 - 08:24

The highest Canadian honour, the Order of Canada, was awarded to Raymond Murray Schafer. Another musician to receive the hounour was conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin.