Image for Philip Glass
Mercredi, Avril 22, 2015 - 08:40

The biennial Glenn Gould Prize for this year was awarded to composer Philip Glass.

Mercredi, Avril 15, 2015 - 10:16

Kevin Puts, who previously also won the Pulitzer Prize, is now awarded with the Delaware Symphony Orchestra's A.I. du Pont Composer's Award for 2015.

Gunther Schuller
Mercredi, Avril 8, 2015 - 16:20

The prestigious Edward MacDowell Medal was won by Gunther Schuller for lifetime achievement.

Vendredi, Mars 27, 2015 - 14:28

The Max Steiner Award, named after the Austrian-born composer Max Steiner, is awarded to James Newton Howard.

Jeudi, Mars 5, 2015 - 16:27

The 2015-16 Lancaster Symphony Orchestra’s Composer Award — the oldest award of its kind in the nation — was won by Augusta Read Thomas.

Vendredi, Février 13, 2015 - 14:43

The Lancaster Symphony Composer’s Award for 2015 is awarded to Tina Davidson. The award, established in 1959, is given annually to a prominent American composer.

Image for György Kurtág
Mercredi, Février 11, 2015 - 10:37

The Hungarian composer György Kurtág will receive the 2014 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the category of contemporary music. The BBVA Foundation is located in Madrid, Spain.

Vendredi, Janvier 30, 2015 - 13:05

The Kennedy Center has appointed its first composer in residence.

Vendredi, Janvier 30, 2015 - 12:38

British composer Rebecca Sunders has been awarded the Kagel Prize for 2015.

Image for Jean Sibelius
Vendredi, Janvier 30, 2015 - 11:53

This year it is 150 years ago that Jean Sibelius was born.

Jeudi, Janvier 22, 2015 - 11:50

For the coming three year Finnish composer Esa-Pekka Salonen will be composer in residence with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra.

Mardi, Décembre 9, 2014 - 12:29

The British Composer Awards for 2014 have been announced. Here are the winners in all categories, with the title of the winning piece:

Jeudi, Décembre 4, 2014 - 12:51

Wolgang Rihm has won the 2015 Grawemeyer Award for Music Competition.

Brian Eno
Jeudi, Décembre 4, 2014 - 12:41

The composer Brian Eno has won Giga Hertz Prize for electronic music. He received the prize, €10000 (appr.