Giga-Herz Prize winners for 2016 announced

Tuesday, October 25, 2016 - 17:18
Curtis Roads
Curtis Roads

The 2016 Giga-Herz prize winners for electronic music have been made known. The main prize, worth €10000, goes to American composer Curtis Roads. He receives the prize for his life-long acheivements in electronic music.

Two composers have been awarded the production prize, worth €5000. These two are Elvira Garifzyanova (Russia) for her piece "Arcane-II" and Huihui Cheng (China) for "Me Du Ça". Columbian composer Daniel Zea Goméz receives a "Honorary Mention", with a one-time monthly fee of €1500.

The Giga-Hertz prize was named after physicist Heinrich Hertz (1857–1894), who proved the existence of electromagnetic waves.

source: http://magazin.klassik.com/news/teaser.cfm?ID=13033&nachricht=Giga-Hertz...

Sheet Music Plus Classical