oceangoing
English

News

Image for William Bolcom
Thursday, November 9, 2006 - 18:00

Michigan composer William Bolcom has won the highest honor for artistic excellence in the USA.

Image for Rebecca Lloyd
Thursday, November 9, 2006 - 12:08

Becca Lloyd has recently joined the staff at the New York post-production powerhouse “World Wide Audio Inc” as a resident composer.

Tuesday, November 7, 2006 - 09:40

Image for Sergey Prokofiev
Friday, November 3, 2006 - 10:54

Image for Aram Ilyich Khachaturian
Wednesday, November 1, 2006 - 10:01

Image for Miklós Rózsa
Thursday, October 19, 2006 - 11:24

Just published:

A Composer's Notes: Remembering Miklós Rózsa

by

Jeffrey Dane

(with a Foreword by Leonard Pennario)

Image for Karl Jenkins
Wednesday, October 11, 2006 - 08:51

Saturday, October 7, 2006 - 11:55

German composer Moritz Eggert has been appointed "composer in residence" for the season 2007/2008 at the Bochumer Symphoniker, a symphony orchestra in Bochum, Germany.

Image for Malcolm Arnold
Monday, September 25, 2006 - 09:26

Image for John Zorn
Wednesday, September 20, 2006 - 10:56

Steve Reich
Friday, September 8, 2006 - 11:52

Pyotr Tchaikovsky
Thursday, September 7, 2006 - 15:02

Image for Johann Sebastian Bach
Monday, September 4, 2006 - 10:12

Image for Karlheinz Stockhausen
Thursday, August 31, 2006 - 12:00

Wednesday, August 30, 2006 - 17:56

On 24 August composer James Tenney died, reportedly of lung cancer. Tenney was a contemporary classical music composer who was better known by his fellow composers than by the public.

Image for John Weinzweig
Saturday, August 26, 2006 - 16:37

On Thursday 24 August Canadian composer John Weinzweig died in a hospital in Toronto, Canada. The "dean of Canadian classical composing" was 93 years old.

Friday, August 25, 2006 - 15:09

Image for Max Keller
Friday, July 7, 2006 - 16:15

The only photograph ever taken of Mozart's widow Constanze, was found back in the town archives of a Bavarian city.

Pages