Gerd Kühr
Freitag, Oktober 20, 2023 - 15:57

The "Großen Österreichischen Staatspreis" (Big Austrian Culture Prize) for this year is awarded to Gerd Kühr. Wiht this life-time award Kühr wins €30,000

Freitag, Oktober 20, 2023 - 15:35

French composer Tristan Murail this year's recipient of the Wihuri Sibelius Prize. Murail was closely associated with the development of spectral music.

Freitag, Oktober 13, 2023 - 11:59

British composer Alex Paxton has won the Claussen-Simon-Kompositionspreis, worth €15000. The jury praises his "unique and colorful musical language".

Mittwoch, Oktober 11, 2023 - 16:07

The German composer and pianist Hauschka (real name: Volker Bertelmann) has received the Sparkassen-Kulturpreis ("Savings Bank Culture Prize").

Dienstag, Juli 4, 2023 - 11:48

The 2023 Composer Prize of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung was won by American composer Eric Wubbels.

Donnerstag, Juni 29, 2023 - 20:09

The Hamburg (Germany) Lions Club has awarded the 2023 Gustaf Gründgens Prize to German composer Elmar Lampson.

Arvo Pärt
Freitag, Juni 2, 2023 - 10:10

The "Polar Music Prize" 2023 was awarded to Estonian composer Arvo Pärt. Representing his father, Pärt's son received the award on 23 May.

Image for George Benjamin
Montag, Februar 13, 2023 - 17:01

The Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis (Music Prize) for this year goes to British composer and conductor George Benjamin.

Mittwoch, Dezember 7, 2022 - 14:50

The 2023 Grawemeyer Award for Music composition has been won by British composer Julian Anderson. He wins the prize for his composition "Litanies" for cello and orchestra.

Evelyn Glennie
Montag, Dezember 5, 2022 - 19:35

Next year Scottish composer and percussionist Evelyn Glennie will receive the Léonie Sonning Music Prize, Denmark's biggest music award.

Alan Hilario
Dienstag, November 29, 2022 - 16:23

Philipine-born composer Alan Hilario will receive the 2022 Maria Ensle Preis on 11 December.

Dienstag, November 29, 2022 - 16:11

The German country of Sachsen-Anhalt has awarded composer Jakob Ullmann with the Landesmusikpreis (Country Music Prize).

Montag, November 28, 2022 - 16:33

The "Giga-Hertz-Preis für elektronische Musik und Klangkunst" (Giga-Herz Prize for electronic music and sound art) is won by Argentinean composer Daniel Teruggi.

Heinz Holliger
Donnerstag, November 17, 2022 - 09:43

The Mainz Academy for Sciences and Literature has awarded Swiss composer Heinz Holliger with the Robert Schumann Prize for Poetry and Music. Holliger will receive an amount of €15000.

Hildur Guðnadóttir
Montag, Oktober 3, 2022 - 10:14

Icelandic composer Hildur Guðnadóttir has received the Variety Artisan Award at the Toronto International Film Festival.

Alan Menken
Montag, September 26, 2022 - 16:35

This year's Max Steiner Film Music Achievement Award was given to Alan Menken. He received the prize Vienna, Austria, during a gala evening that was completely dedicated tot the composer.

Sonntag, September 25, 2022 - 14:25

The Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) has awarded Scottish composer Thea Musgrave with a honorary membership. The 94 year old composer is still active.

Mittwoch, August 24, 2022 - 19:43

Austrian composer Peter Diesenberger has won a competition for composers — theme "Wasserkraft" (Water Power) — with his piece "River Stories".

Dienstag, August 2, 2022 - 16:05

German composer Kolja Lessing has received the Bundesverdienstkreuz ("Cross of Honor of Germany").

Donnerstag, Juni 23, 2022 - 16:07

Basque composer Jon Bagues has received the Manuel Lekuona Prize for his long-time commitment to the Basque musical heritage.